It's back and it smells fishy.... MV42 on ebay.
- Slidemo
- Posts: 144
- Joined: Apr 11, 2018
So this MV42 sold a little while back for 2500ish
<LINK_TEXT text="https://www.ebay.com/itm/Mt-Vernon-Bach ... 7675.l2557">https://www.ebay.com/itm/Mt-Vernon-Bach-42-Trombone-/333548594665?nma=true&si=KyX8ZYgPufHjD7IE1aKL6PBLZb4%253D&orig_cvip=true&nordt=true&rt=nc&_trksid=p2047675.l2557</LINK_TEXT>
Now it's reappeared and listed twice by a new seller. S/He wants to be contacted to buy it now at 1800...
The whole thing smells of "you know what" to me... Just a general warning.
<LINK_TEXT text="https://www.ebay.com/itm/Mt-Vernon-Bach ... 7675.l2557">https://www.ebay.com/itm/Mt-Vernon-Bach-42-Trombone-/333548594665?nma=true&si=KyX8ZYgPufHjD7IE1aKL6PBLZb4%253D&orig_cvip=true&nordt=true&rt=nc&_trksid=p2047675.l2557</LINK_TEXT>
Now it's reappeared and listed twice by a new seller. S/He wants to be contacted to buy it now at 1800...
The whole thing smells of "you know what" to me... Just a general warning.
- shinythings7
- Posts: 52
- Joined: Jul 22, 2018
That is a scam. It is common to see that on ebay. I have already reported the listing.
- dxhall
- Posts: 156
- Joined: Sep 14, 2018
Looks like a run-of-the-mill ebay ad to me. What about the ad makes you think it’s a scam?
- shinythings7
- Posts: 52
- Joined: Jul 22, 2018
[quote="dxhall"]Looks like a run-of-the-mill ebay ad to me. What about the ad makes you think it’s a scam?[/quote]
The one that is linked is the one that already sold. There have been subsequent ads that have referenced deals outside if eBay, which is always a scam and against their TOS.
The one that is linked is the one that already sold. There have been subsequent ads that have referenced deals outside if eBay, which is always a scam and against their TOS.
- JohnL
- Posts: 2529
- Joined: Mar 23, 2018
Same pictures. Something <I>is</I> fishy. Not like that little whiff you get when you walk by the seafood counter in the market, either. This is a full-blow, rotting fish carcasses washed up on the beach in the middle of a heat wave stench.
This one wants you to go to a third-party website that brings up a fake eBay login page:
<LINK_TEXT text="https://www.ebay.com/itm/Mt-Vernon-Bach ... Swhl1eoz7O">https://www.ebay.com/itm/Mt-Vernon-Bach-42-Trombone/114199002614?hash=item1a96ca7df6:g:OEIAAOSwhl1eoz7O</LINK_TEXT>
This one wants you to contact the seller via email to arrange the sale outside of eBay.
<LINK_TEXT text="https://www.ebay.com/itm/Mt-Vernon-Bach ... Sw7gxeo~kR">https://www.ebay.com/itm/Mt-Vernon-Bach-42-Trombone/184267020354?hash=item2ae72b9842:g:bnoAAOSw7gxeo~kR</LINK_TEXT>
This one wants you to go to a third-party website that brings up a fake eBay login page:
<LINK_TEXT text="https://www.ebay.com/itm/Mt-Vernon-Bach ... Swhl1eoz7O">https://www.ebay.com/itm/Mt-Vernon-Bach-42-Trombone/114199002614?hash=item1a96ca7df6:g:OEIAAOSwhl1eoz7O</LINK_TEXT>
This one wants you to contact the seller via email to arrange the sale outside of eBay.
<LINK_TEXT text="https://www.ebay.com/itm/Mt-Vernon-Bach ... Sw7gxeo~kR">https://www.ebay.com/itm/Mt-Vernon-Bach-42-Trombone/184267020354?hash=item2ae72b9842:g:bnoAAOSw7gxeo~kR</LINK_TEXT>
- tbonesullivan
- Posts: 1959
- Joined: Jul 02, 2019
This is, sadly, a standard MO for scammers on ebay. There are lots of websites that archive the pictures and selling prices for items, like Worthpoint, which then enable scammers to make duplicate listings for items that they do not have.